How to know if a person is possessed by the jinn or affected by the evil eye

How can a person know if he has been possessed by the jinn or if he is affected by the evil eye?.

Praise be to Allaah.

Those who deal with ruqyah as prescribed in Islam have mentioned some of the symptoms from which it may be known whether a person has been possessed by the jinn or affected by the evil eye. They are not definitive  symptoms and may vary in some cases, and may be more or less in other cases.

As for the symptoms of possession, they are:

1.     Turning away and reacting strongly when hearing the adhaan or Qur’aan

2.     Fainting, seizures and falling when Qur’aan is read over him

3.     A lot of disturbing dreams

4.     Being alone, keeping away from people and behaving strangely

5.     The devil who is dwelling in him may speak when Qur’aan is read over him.

As for the symptoms of being affected by the evil eye, Shaykh ‘Abd al-‘Azeez al-Sadhaan (may Allaah preserve him) said:

If it is not a real sickness, then the symptoms may take the following forms:

Headaches that move from one part of the head to another; yellow pallor in the face; sweating and urinating a great deal; weak appetite; tingling, heat or cold in the limbs; palpitations in the heart; pain in the lower back and shoulders; sadness and anxiety; sleeplessness at night; strong reactions due to abnormal fears; a lot of burping, yawning and sighing; withdrawal and love of solitude; apathy and laziness; a tendency to sleep; health problems with no known medical cause.

These signs or some of them may be present according to the strength of the evil eye or the number of people who put the evil eye on others. End quote.

Al-Ruqyah al-Shar’iyyah (p. 10)

For more information, please see the answer to question no. 240 and 20954

And Allaah knows best.

Islam Q&A

16 comments on “How to know if a person is possessed by the jinn or affected by the evil eye

  1. I think I may have a jinn. I am in my 40s and have not been able to sustain a relationship. I’ve been married 3 times and had many boyfriends before converting to Islam. Although I want to be married, this jinn doesn’t like for me to have a man around. An elder from Africa once told me that I had a husband on the other side (spirit world) who prevents me from having succesful relationships. What can I do to know if this is true

    • Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

      Unfortunately we don’t have the authority to answer such questions…

      In order to submit your question and be answered by a trustworthy sheikh you have to visit the following link:

      http://islamqa.com/en/send_q

      Alhamdullilah

      May Allah (swt) guide us and guide you.

      Wassalam alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

  2. Asalamwa alaykum

    I don’t know if I have a jinn because I do see black shadows often and I often have dreams of snakes and proper jinns talking to me or laughing I get a serve headache from my left eye and it goes to my neck during this time I’ll have to sit in a dark room as I cannot move or speak I get very affraid when I read nammaz and during the night I can feel my eyes start rolling cAn someone please help me

    • Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

      Unfortunately we don’t have the authority to answer such questions…

      In order to submit your question and be answered by a trustworthy sheikh you have to visit the following link:

      http://islamqa.com/en/send_q

      Alhamdullilah

      May Allah (swt) guide us and guide you.

      Wassalam alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

  3. asalamuakium, brother

    i am facing a problem from a very long time it started long before but i felt it after many years when ever i go to sleep i feel at time someone is sleeping over my back and he tries have physical intimacy with me,i went to many maolanas one of them helped me in recovering i am right now out of station m really confused cant talk about to this to parents also…i often recite surah albaqarah last 3 aya ,it helps but if i stop it comes again,i am totally frustrated how long i llbe doing this! please help me

    • Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

      Unfortunately we don’t have the authority to answer such questions…

      In order to submit your question and be answered by a trustworthy sheikh you have to visit the following link:

      http://islamqa.com/en/send_q

      Alhamdullilah

      May Allah (swt) guide us and guide you.

      Wassalam alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

  4. I HAVE BECAME BACK TO NORMAL WAL HAMDO LILALLAH From seeing a sheikh u need to SEE ONE BEFORE IT GETS WORSE DON’T WASTE TIME WASALAMO ALAYKUM

  5. THATS FOR U SISTER NAJMEH IT WORKS BUT better off going to a good sheikh from Ahla sunnah wal jammaghah and it worked for me and may the almighty lord Allah S.W.T Give u glad tidings and I will make dua for your son wasalamo alaykum warahmatollah wabarakato it worked for me and I was worse and at once staged I kept washing my hands always sleeping always angry everysingle day always bymyself NOT EATING I WEIGHED 48KILOS AT ONE STAGED LOST MY HAIR NEVER SLEEPING ALWAYS PALE DIDN’T Wanna see nobody always quiet and my friendS And family knew something was wrong because I was an outgoing person then all of a sudden I was at home didn’t want to see nobody and always angry lost alot weight always blasphemic thoughts LOST ALOT OF WEIGHT BUT BECAUSE OF THAT SHEIKH and PRAYER AND READING QURAN AND PATIENTS AND DAY AND NIGHT ZIKR LA ILLAHA ILLA ALLAH MOHAMMED RASOOLUL ALLAH

  6. Assalamoalykum warahmatollah wa barakato athou billahi Mina shaytan rageem wafitnatihi 3times amanto billahi wa birasoolihi 3times la howla wala kowat ila billah100 times a day it works sister for your 22year old son for these please be patient sister and ayat al Kursi after every single prayer be patient sister for the sake of Allah I had the same situation Allah the almighty and the greatest does not forget nobody I was very very very similar to your son sister be patient allah loves the patient muslimoon and always la ilaha illal Allah

  7. Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

    Unfortunately we don’t have the authority to answer for such matters…

    In order to submit your question and be answered by a trustworthy sheikh you have to visit the following link:

    http://islamqa.com/en/send_q

    Alhamdullilah

    May Allah (swt) guide us and guide you.

    Wassalam alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

  8. Assalamu alaykum, I have as son thats from my first marraige his name is Khaled Erras he was raised by me and my family mostly my mom last year i moved to a different state with my husband and three kids and he stayed with my family they sent him to me later and he was very thin did not speak he keeps his head down and wets himself always does not eat when we eat does not sleep when we sleep he will be 22 next week i dont know what to do we took him to doctors they say hes fine. thanks Nijmeh Badaiwi sallam,

  9. Assalamu alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

    Unfortunately we don’t have the authority to answer such questions…

    In order to submit your question and be answered by a trustworthy sheikh you have to visit the following link:

    http://islamqa.com/en/send_q

    Alhamdullilah

    May Allah (swt) guide us and guide you.

    Wassalam alaykum wa rahmatu Allah ta’ala wa barakatuh

  10. asslam mo alaikum
    my sister is posessed by jinn black magic.(in india chennai) her name is shamshad beagum. she become weak not eating ,sleeping she has back pain shuolder pain
    please give ruqaiyah treatment for her she has one son & daughter and husbend.

    iam working in saudi arbia in riyadh iam goging to vacation ramzan eaid please tell me what i have to do.
    thanks
    khader mohamed allah hafiz

    • Asalamualaykum, make her recite ayat al kursi often, and make her recite her morning and evening adhkhaar. and get her to recite quran very very often, the quran burns the jinn. Surahs 112, 113, 114 are very important, and also the first 10 ayahs of surah 37.
      There are many specific ayat you can recite, let me know if you want the list.
      she should be okay inshallah

      if it doesn’t seem to be working, take her to a sheikh of Ahlus sunnah wal jammah and ask them to perform ruqyah on her.

Leave a Reply

